Freedom of Information (Amendment) Bill — Third Reading — 18 May 2007 at 13:46

Oliver Letwin MP, West Dorset did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted in favour the Bill to exempt MPs from Freedom of Information Act from the House of Commons.[1]

Owing to no member of the House of Lords picking it up, the proposal was deliberately lost in the Parliamentary process.[2]

Later, Tom Brake MP proposed an alternative Freedom of Information (Amendment) Bill to:[3][4]

  • remove the provisions permitting Ministers to overrule decisions of the Information Commissioner and Information Tribunal;
  • limit the time allowed for public authorities to respond to requests involving consideration of the public interest; and
  • amend the definition of public authorities.

But the session ended before it could reach a debate.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con18 (+1 tell) 5012.2%
Lab78 (+1 tell) 9025.0%
LDem0 9 (+2 tell)017.5%
PC0 1033.3%
Respect0 10100.0%
Total:96 25020.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

James ClappisonHertsmereCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLab (minister)no
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Dan NorrisWansdykeLab (minister)no
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLab (minister)no
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive