Coroners and Justice Bill — Committee (5th Day) — assisted suicide — 7 Jul 2009 at 20:03

was absent


Amendment 173

Moved by Lord Falconer of Thoroton

173: After Clause 49, insert the following new Clause—

“Acts not capable of encouraging or assisting suicide

(1) An act by an individual (“D”) is not to be treated as capable of encouraging or assisting the suicide or attempted suicide of another adult (“T”) if—

(a) the act is done solely or principally for the purpose of enabling or assisting T to travel to a country or territory in which assisted dying is lawful;

(b) prior to the act, two registered medical practitioners, independent of each other, have certified that they are of the opinion in good faith that T is terminally ill and has the capacity to make the declaration under subsection (2); and

(c) prior to the act, T has made a declaration under subsection (2).

(2) A declaration by T is made under this subsection if the declaration—

(a) is made freely in writing and is signed by T (or is otherwise recorded and authenticated if T is incapable of signing it),

(b) states that T—

(i) has read or been informed of the contents of the certificates under subsection (1)(b), and

(ii) has decided to travel to a country or territory falling within subsection (1)(a) for the purpose of obtaining assistance in dying, and

(c) is witnessed by an independent witness chosen by T.

(3) “Independent witness” means a person who is not—

(a) likely to obtain any benefit from the death of T; or

(b) a close relative or friend of T; or

(c) involved in caring for T.

(4) D is not to be treated as having done an act capable of encouraging or assisting the suicide or attempted suicide of T by virtue of being with T when, in a country or territory falling within subsection (1)(a), T takes steps (including steps taken with the assistance of D) to commit suicide by lawful means.”

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop5 020.0%
Con76 1746.5%
Crossbench37 (+2 tell) 2735.5%
DUP2 066.7%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 06.7%
Lab44 67 (+2 tell)51.6%
LDem22 2764.5%
Other1 133.3%
UUP3 0100.0%
Total:192 13945.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The of ArranConaye
Baker of DorkingConaye
Bowness Conaye
Brougham and Vaux Conaye
Chadlington Conaye
Flather Conaye
Freud Conaye
Geddes Conaye
Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Laing of DunphailConaye
Lawson of BlabyConaye
The of LindsayConaye
Lucas Conaye
MacGregor of Pulham MarketConaye
Mancroft Conaye
Montagu of BeaulieuConaye
Norton of LouthConaye
Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Broers Crossbenchaye
Burns Crossbenchaye
Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchaye
Cobbold Crossbenchaye
Craigavon Crossbenchaye
D'Souza Crossbenchaye
The of ErrollCrossbenchaye
Greengross Crossbenchaye
Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchaye
Joffe Crossbenchaye
Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchaye
Low of DalstonCrossbenchaye
McCluskey Crossbenchaye
Meacher Crossbenchaye
Monson Crossbenchaye
Moser Crossbenchaye
Pannick Crossbenchaye
Prashar Crossbenchaye
Quirk Crossbenchaye
Rees of LudlowCrossbenchaye
Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
Stern Crossbenchaye
Sutherland of HoundwoodCrossbenchaye
Turnbull Crossbenchaye
Warnock Crossbenchaye
Young of HornseyCrossbenchaye
Adams of CraigieleaLabno
Adonis Lab (minister)no
Ahmed Labno
Anderson of SwanseaLabno
Bach Lab (minister)no
Bilston Labno
Brennan Labno
Brooke of AlverthorpeLabno
Brookman Labno
Campbell-Savours Labno
Christopher Labno
Clarke of HampsteadLabno
Corston Labno
Crawley Lab (minister)no
Darzi of DenhamLab (minister)no
Davies of CoityLabno
Dean of Thornton-le-FyldeLabno
Filkin Labno
Ford Labno
Gale Labno
Gordon of StrathblaneLabno
Griffiths of Burry PortLabno
Howarth of NewportLabno
Howells of St DavidsLabno
Irvine of LairgLabno
Jones Labno
Kennedy of The ShawsLabno
Kirkhill Labno
Lea of CrondallLabno
Lofthouse of PontefractLabno
McDonagh Labno
Morris of HandsworthLabno
Morris of YardleyLabno
Rea Labno
Rooker Labno
Rowlands Labno
Scotland of AsthalLab (minister)no
Strabolgi Labno
Tomlinson Labno
Tunnicliffe Lab (minister)no
Turnberg Labno
Uddin Labno
Wilkins Labno
Williams of ElvelLabno
Burnett LDem (front bench)no
Carlile of BerriewLDem (front bench)no
Chidgey LDemno
Cotter LDem (front bench)no
Falkland LDemno
Falkner of MargravineLDemno
Lee of TraffordLDem (front bench)no
Livsey of TalgarthLDem (front bench)no
Maclennan of RogartLDem (front bench)no
Maddock LDemno
The of Mar and KellieLDem (front bench)no
McNally LDem (front bench)no
Methuen LDemno
Neuberger LDemno
Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemno
Roberts of LlandudnoLDem (front bench)no
Scott of Needham MarketLDemno
Shutt of GreetlandLDem (front bench)no
Thomas of GresfordLDem (front bench)no
Tordoff LDemno
Tyler LDem (front bench)no
Williams of CrosbyLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive