Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Consideration of Commons Reasons and Amendments — 16 Feb 2011 at 12:46

Lord Rennard voted in the minority (Not-Content).

Motion A

Moved by Lord Wallace of Tankerness

That this House do not insist on its Amendments 1 and 8 to which the Commons have disagreed for their Reasons 1A and 8A:

Because the outcome of the referendum should be determined by those who vote in it and should not depend on how many do not vote.

Amendment 1 was a requirement for 40% turnout at the referendum. It was rejected in the Commons.

Amendment 8 was ... ??

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con28 122 (+1 tell)66.5%
DUP2 050.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab180 (+2 tell) 072.5%
LDem1 73 (+1 tell)75.8%
Other1 025.0%
PC0 1100.0%
UKIP1 050.0%
UUP3 1100.0%
Crossbench57 1638.0%
Total:275 21360.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Cavendish of FurnessConaye
Lord Elton Conaye
Lord Flight Conaye
Baroness Fookes Conaye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanConaye
Baroness Gardner of ParkesConaye
Lord Glenarthur Conaye
Lord Griffiths of FforestfachConaye
Lord Hamilton of EpsomConaye
Lord Harris of PeckhamConaye
Lord Higgins Conaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lord Howard of RisingConaye
Lord Howe of AberavonConaye
Lord Lamont of LerwickConaye
Lord Lawson of BlabyConaye
Lord Mawhinney Conaye
Lord Moore of Lower MarshConaye
Lord Northbrook Conaye
Lord Norton of LouthConaye
Lord Plumb Conaye
Lord Reay Conaye
Baroness Sharples Conaye
Lord Stevens of LudgateConaye
Lord Swinfen Conaye
Lord Tebbit Conaye
Viscount Trenchard Conaye
Baroness Trumpington Conaye
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Lord Empey UUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive