Youth Employment Bill — Youth Training and Employment — Bank Bonus Budget Tax — 13 Jul 2011 at 14:50

Kelvin Hopkins MP, Luton North voted in the minority (Teller for the Noes).

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a Bill aimed at providing more training and employment opportunities for unemployed young people between the ages of 16 and 25, supported by payments from banks out of their bonus budgets.

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the following motion:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to establish a programme to provide training and employment opportunities for unemployed young people between the ages of 16 and 25;
  • to establish a comprehensive careers guidance service for young people seeking to enter the job market;
  • to enable Apprenticeship Training Agencies to assist small businesses in employing apprentices;
  • to provide small businesses with a National Insurance contributions holiday;
  • to make provision for grants towards the wage costs of apprentices employed by small businesses;
  • to make provision for a mechanism through which banks and other providers of financial services are required to allocate part of their bonus payment budget to support these measures;
  • and for connected purposes.

The Bill failed to complete its passage through Parliament before the end of the session. This means the Bill will make no further progress.[1]


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con20 28417.0%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab182 (+2 tell) 2 (+2 tell)072.9%
LDem16 1029.8%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:237 31442.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Stuart AndrewPudseyConaye
Andrew BinghamHigh PeakConaye
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthConaye
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastConaye
David DaviesMonmouthConaye
Richard FullerBedfordConaye
Mark GarnierWyre ForestConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireConaye
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConaye
Karen LumleyRedditchConaye
Anne McIntoshThirsk and MaltonConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
Simon ReevellDewsburyConaye
Andrew RosindellRomfordConaye
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthConaye
Rory StewartPenrith and The BorderConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Robin WalkerWorcesterConaye
Gavin WilliamsonSouth StaffordshireConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughConboth
Karl McCartneyLincolnConboth
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConboth
Stephen PhillipsSleaford and North HykehamConboth
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellno
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Bob RussellColchesterLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive