Prayers — Clause 1 — Duties of the Secretary of State — 9 Sep 2011 at 13:15

Mark Reckless MP, Rochester and Strood did not vote.

I beg to move amendment 3, page 1, line 2, leave out ‘publishing draft’ and insert ‘presenting’.

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

Let me start my remarks by reassuring Opposition Members about a number of things that are not in the Bill and that-surprise, surprise-both the BBC and The Guardian occasionally misreport things. I want to reassure everyone here that I am a whole-hearted supporter of the Union. I have referred before in the Chamber to the memory of my late, lamented grandmother, Flora McLean McLeod Morison, from the Isle of Skye, and I think that that will go a long way towards reassuring everybody what a strong supporter I am of the Union, being a physical embodiment of it myself.

Question put, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

The House divided:

Ayes 24, Noes 40.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con18 (+2 tell) 21 (+2 tell)014.1%
Lab16 117.0%
LDem5 008.8%
SNP0 1016.7%
Total:39 23110.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard BenyonNewburyConno
Conor BurnsBournemouth WestConno
Simon BurnsChelmsfordConno
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastContellno
Chris GraylingEpsom and EwellConno
Philip HammondRunnymede and WeybridgeConno
Mark HarperForest of DeanConno
Charles HendryWealdenConno
Nick HerbertArundel and South DownsConno
Mark HobanFarehamConno
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Stephen O'BrienEddisburyConno
John RandallUxbridge and South RuislipConno
Andrew RobathanSouth LeicestershireConno
Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConno
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Hugo SwireEast DevonConno
Theresa VilliersChipping BarnetConno
Angela WatkinsonHornchurch and UpminsterContellno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive