Liaison: Select Committee Report — 30 Apr 2001 at 17:13

was absent

Moved, That the Second Report from the Select Committee (HL Paper 67) be agreed to.--(Lord Tordoff.)

rose to move, as an amendment to the above Motion, to leave out all the words after "That" and insert "this House rejects the recommendations of the Liaison Committee and appoints a Select Committee of five members to consider the justification for the finding of those reviewing the conclusions of the RAF board of inquiry that both pilots of the Chinook helicopter ZD576 which crashed on the Mull of Kintyre on 2nd June 1994 were negligent".

On Question, Whether the said amendment shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 132; Not-Contents, 106.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con66 (+1 tell) 031.0%
Crossbench24 (+1 tell) 3 (+1 tell)18.5%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab26 8056.4%
LDem6 20 (+1 tell)44.3%
Other2 113.6%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:130 10435.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Colville of CulrossCrossbenchtellno
Cooke of IslandreaghCrossbenchno
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Tenby Crossbenchno
Acton Labaye
Berkeley Labaye
Brett Labaye
Brookman Labaye
Bruce of DoningtonLabaye
Davies of CoityLabaye
Evans of ParksideLabaye
Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Faulkner of WorcesterLabaye
Gibson of Market RasenLabaye
Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Hardy of WathLabaye
Howie of TroonLabaye
Hughes of WoodsideLabaye
Jenkins of PutneyLabaye
Judd Labaye
MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Morris of ManchesterLabaye
Orme Labaye
Puttnam Labaye
Shore of StepneyLabaye
Simon Labaye
Stone of BlackheathLabaye
Turnberg Labaye
Turner of CamdenLabaye
Williams of ElvelLabaye
Falkland LDemaye
Hooson LDemaye
Jacobs LDemaye
The of Mar and KellieLDemaye
Shutt of GreetlandLDemaye
Thomas of WalliswoodLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive