Deferred Division — Visitor Facilities — 12 May 2004 at 17:57

Mr Roger Gale MP, North Thanet voted in the minority (No).

Adjourned debate on Question [22 April].

Motion made, and Question proposed, that this House approves the First Joint Report of the Accommodation and Works Committee and the Administration Committee on Visitor Facilities: Access to Parliament (House of Commons Paper No. 324) and endorses the Committees' proposals for a new reception and security building at the north end of Cromwell Green.-(Mr. Phil Woolas.)

The House divided: Ayes 333, Noes 46.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con59 28053.4%
DUP0 2033.3%
Ind1 0050.0%
Lab239 3059.3%
LDem32 6070.4%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 2040.0%
UUP2 1060.0%
Total:333 46058.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Henry BellinghamNorth West NorfolkConno
Mr John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Mr Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Mr Quentin DaviesGrantham and StamfordConno
Mr Mark FrancoisRayleighConno
Mr Roger GaleNorth ThanetConno
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Mr Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConno
Mrs Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamConno
Mr John HayesSouth Holland and The DeepingsConno
Mr David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno
Mr Mark HobanFarehamConno
Mr Greg KnightEast YorkshireConno
Mrs Jacqui LaitBeckenhamConno
Mr Edward LeighGainsboroughConno
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Mr Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConno
Mr John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Mr Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Mr Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireConno
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConno
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Mr Bill WigginLeominsterConno
Ann WintertonCongletonwhilst Conno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Mrs Diana OrganForest of DeanLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Dr Vincent CableTwickenhamLDemno
Mr Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDemno
Mr David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Martin SmythBelfast Southwhilst UUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive