Assisted Dying for the Terminally Ill Bill [HL] — 12 May 2006 at 17:17

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe voted in the minority (Not-Content).

This division was on an amendment to give a second reading to the Bill in six months' time, rather than immediately. This is a polite way of indicating opposition to the Bill. A six months' delay would make it impossible for the Bill to progress in this session.

Some controversy emerged during the debate over whether it was accepted Lords practice to, in effect, reject a Private Members' Bill at second reading.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop14 053.8%
Con56 (+1 tell) 1333.5%
Green0 1100.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab24 (+1 tell) 4532.9%
LDem14 21 (+1 tell)48.6%
UUP1 033.3%
Crossbench36 18 (+1 tell)30.9%
Total:146 9835.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of ArranConno
Lord Bowness Conno
The Earl of Crawford and BalcarresConno
Baroness Flather Conno
Lord Gilmour of CraigmillarConno
Viscount Goschen Conno
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConno
Lord Laing of DunphailConno
Lord Moore of Lower MarshConno
Baroness Noakes Conno
Lord Palumbo Conno
Lord Prior Conno
Lord Reay Conno
Lord Acton Labaye
Lord Adonis Labaye
Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Bilston Labaye
Lord Brennan Labaye
Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLabaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Carter Labtellaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Lord Dixon Labaye
Baroness Falkender Labaye
Lord Griffiths of Burry PortLabaye
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Lord Pendry Labaye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Viscount Simon Labaye
Lord Strabolgi Labaye
Baroness Symons of Vernham DeanLabaye
Lord Taylor of BlackburnLabaye
Lord Turnberg Labaye
Baroness Uddin Labaye
Baroness Wilkins Labaye
Lord Williams of ElvelLabaye
Lord Winston Labaye
Lord Carlile of BerriewLDemaye
Lord Clement-Jones LDemaye
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Lord Livsey of TalgarthLDemaye
Lord McNally LDemaye
Lord Methuen LDemaye
Baroness Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemaye
Lord Roberts of LlandudnoLDemaye
Lord Sandberg LDemaye
Baroness Scott of Needham MarketLDemaye
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDemaye
Lord Thomas of GresfordLDemaye
Lord Tordoff LDemaye
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive