Legislative Process (Notice for Amendments in Public Bill Committee) — 1 Nov 2006 at 18:25

Motion made, and Question put,

That, subject to the discretion of the Chair, notices of amendments to bills committed to a public bill committee should be tabled not later than three sitting days, calculated in accordance with Standing Order No. 12(3) (House not to sit on certain Fridays), before the sitting at which they are to be considered.- [Mr. Straw.]

The House divided: Ayes 223, Noes 172.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con34 117177.6%
Ind2 00100.0%
Lab281 (+2 tell) 2081.0%
LDem0 51 (+2 tell)084.1%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP3 0050.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:322 171179.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Henry BellinghamNorth West NorfolkConaye
Julian BrazierCanterburyConaye
Simon BurnsWest ChelmsfordConaye
William CashStoneConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConaye
Philip DunneLudlowConaye
Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Michael JackFyldeConaye
Daniel KawczynskiShrewsbury and AtchamConaye
Robert KeySalisburyConaye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireConaye
Andrew MacKayBracknellCon (front bench)aye
David MacleanPenrith and The BorderConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConaye
Theresa MayMaidenheadConaye
Patrick MercerNewarkCon (front bench)aye
George OsborneTattonConaye
Michael PenningHemel HempsteadConaye
Eric PicklesBrentwood and OngarConaye
Mark SimmondsBoston and SkegnessConaye
Keith SimpsonMid NorfolkConaye
Anthony SteenTotnesConaye
Hugo SwireEast DevonConaye
David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Ben WallaceLancaster and WyreConaye
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive