Pensions Bill — 4 Jul 2007 at 16:48

Lord Razzall voted with the majority (Content).

The majority Ayes accepted an amendment to the Pensions Bill which said:
"( ) With effect from the commencement of this section or 1st November 2007, whichever shall be earlier, the contributor may at any time up to state pension age, make voluntary (Class 3) contributions for any period of his or her working life, in respect of up to 9 years, whether consecutive or not, which for any reason shall not have satisfied the conditions for a Qualifying Year or Years, so that such year or years shall then be deemed to be a Qualifying Year or Years.""
The effect of this is that people, particularly women, without sufficient qualifying years (of paying National Insurance contributions) to receive a full state pension can pay extra to get more qualifying years. Years don't qualify if they are spent in caring for children or elderly parents or in an assortment of part-time jobs rather than a full-time job. Until 2010, 39 qualifying years are required to get a full State pension; from 2010 30 qualifying years will be required. In some areas only 12% of women qualify for a full State pension. The Government's objections were to the cost and to the likelihood that ex-patriates would take advantage of this to increase their entitlement to a British State pension.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con48 (+1 tell) 023.6%
Green1 0100.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab26 82 (+2 tell)51.2%
LDem46 (+1 tell) 059.5%
Other1 014.3%
UUP2 066.7%
Crossbench49 226.8%
Total:177 8436.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Barnett Labaye
Lord Campbell-Savours Labaye
Lord Clinton-Davis Labaye
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
Baroness David Labaye
Lord Davies of CoityLabaye
Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-FyldeLabaye
Baroness Falkender Labaye
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLabaye
Lord Filkin Labaye
Baroness Gibson of Market RasenLabaye
Lord Graham of EdmontonLabaye
Lord Haworth Labaye
Baroness Henig Labaye
Baroness Hollis of HeighamLabaye
Lord Howarth of NewportLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Baroness Lockwood Labaye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Baroness Massey of DarwenLabaye
Baroness McIntosh of HudnallLabaye
Lord Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Baroness Rendell of BaberghLabaye
Lord Rosser Labaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Baroness Wilkins Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive