Public Houses and Private Members' Clubs (Smoking) Bill — 13 Oct 2010 at 12:41

Stephen Mosley MP, City of Chester voted to exempt pubs and private members clubs from the smoking ban where no food is being served.

The majority of MPs voted not to relax the smoking ban and allow smoking in pubs and private members clubs where no food is being served.

MPs refused David Nuttall, Conservative MP for Bury North, permission to bring in a private members bill to exempt pubs and private clubs from the smoking ban.

The text of the motion the MPs rejected was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to exempt public houses and private members' clubs from the requirements of part 1 of the Health Act 2006 relating to smoke-free premises; and for connected purposes.

Mr Nuttall's speech[1] explains his rationale for seeking to bring in such a bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con37 (+1 tell) 75 (+2 tell)037.6%
DUP3 3075.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab79 (+1 tell) 4032.6%
LDem17 3136.8%
SDLP2 0066.7%
Total:140 85136.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Stuart AndrewPudseyConno
Stephen BarclayNorth East CambridgeshireConno
Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConno
Nicholas BolesGrantham and StamfordConno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestContellno
Steve BrineWinchesterConno
Fiona BruceCongletonConno
Damian CollinsFolkestone and HytheConno
Jane EllisonBatterseaConno
Graham EvansWeaver ValeConno
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenConno
Richard FullerBedfordConno
Sam GyimahEast SurreyConno
Matthew HancockWest SuffolkConno
Rebecca HarrisCastle PointConno
George HollingberyMeon ValleyConno
Margot JamesStourbridgeConno
Chris KellyDudley SouthConno
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConno
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConno
Phillip LeeBracknellConno
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConno
Karen LumleyRedditchConno
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConno
James MorrisHalesowen and Rowley RegisConno
Sheryll MurraySouth East CornwallConno
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthConno
Matthew OffordHendonConno
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConno
Stephen PhillipsSleaford and North HykehamConno
Daniel PoulterCentral Suffolk and North IpswichConno
Andrew RosindellRomfordConno
Julian SmithSkipton and RiponConno
John StevensonCarlisleConno
Mel StrideCentral DevonConno
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConno
Chris WhiteWarwick and LeamingtonConno
Sarah WollastonTotnesConno
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLabaye
Tom HarrisGlasgow SouthLabaye
Toby PerkinsChesterfieldLabaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemaye
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemaye
John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive