Human Fertilisation and Embryology (Research Purposes) Regulations — 19 Dec 2000

Mr Adrian Sanders MP, Torbay voted in the minority (No).

The majority of MPs voted in favour[1] of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology (Research Purposes) Regulations which said:[2]

  • Research licences may be authorised under the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 1990[3] for the purposes of
  • increasing knowledge about the development of embryos;
  • increasing knowledge about serious disease, or
  • enabling any such knowledge to be applied in developing treatments for serious disease.

A list of such licenses would be useful to link to from here.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con61 79087.5%
DUP0 30100.0%
Ind1 10100.0%
Lab273 (+2 tell) 76 (+1 tell)084.6%
LDem28 11083.0%
PC2 1075.0%
SNP1 0016.7%
UUP0 3 (+1 tell)044.4%
Total:366 174084.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConaye
Mr John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Sir Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConaye
Mr Crispin BluntReigateConaye
Mr Tim BoswellDaventryConaye
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Mrs Virginia BottomleySouth West SurreyConaye
Mr Peter BrookeCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Mrs Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConaye
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConaye
Dr Michael ClarkRayleighConaye
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Mr Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldConaye
Mr James CranBeverley and HoldernessConaye
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Mr Quentin DaviesGrantham and StamfordConaye
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConaye
Sir Peter EmeryEast DevonConaye
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Mr Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConaye
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConaye
Mrs Teresa GormanBillericayConaye
Sir Archie HamiltonEpsom and EwellConaye
Mr Nick HawkinsSurrey HeathConaye
Mr Edward HeathOld Bexley and SidcupConaye
Mr Michael HeseltineHenleyConaye
Mr Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Mr Michael HowardFolkestone and HytheConaye
Mr Michael JackFyldeConaye
Mr Robert JacksonWantageConaye
Hon. Bernard JenkinNorth EssexConaye
Sir Geoffrey Johnson SmithWealdenConaye
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConaye
Mr Tom KingBridgwaterConaye
Miss Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
Mrs Jacqui LaitBeckenhamConaye
Mr Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConaye
Mr Oliver LetwinWest DorsetConaye
Mr John MacGregorSouth NorfolkConaye
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Mr David MadelSouth West BedfordshireConaye
Mr John MajorHuntingdonConaye
Mr John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConaye
Mr Michael MatesEast HampshireConaye
Mrs Anne McIntoshVale of YorkConaye
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Mr Richard PageSouth West HertfordshireConaye
Mr James PaiceSouth East CambridgeshireConaye
Mr David PriorNorth NorfolkConaye
Mr Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConaye
Mr Andrew RoweFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Mr Keith SimpsonMid NorfolkConaye
Hon. Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConaye
Mr John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConaye
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConaye
Mr John TownendEast YorkshireConaye
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConaye
Mr David WilshireSpelthorneConaye
Mr Tim YeoSouth SuffolkConaye
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLabno
Mr Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLabno
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Mr Joe BentonBootleLabno
Mr Gerry BerminghamSt Helens SouthLabno
Mr David BorrowSouth RibbleLabno
Mr Des BrowneKilmarnock and LoudounLabno
Mr Dale Campbell-SavoursWorkingtonLabno
Mr Jamie CannIpswichLabno
Mr Roger CasaleWimbledonLabno
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabno
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabno
Mr Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabno
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabno
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Ms Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Mr Michael Jabez FosterHastings and RyeLabno
Mr George GallowayGlasgow KelvinLabno
Mr Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Mr Paul GogginsWythenshawe and Sale EastLabno
Mr John GroganSelbyLabno
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Mr Barry JonesAlyn and DeesideLabno
Fiona JonesNewarkLabno
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabno
Mr Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabno
Ms Ruth KellyBolton WestLabno
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabno
Mr Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabno
Mr Ivan LewisBury SouthLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mrs Helen LiddellAirdrie and ShottsLabno
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthLabno
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and AtchamLabno
Mr David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabno
Mr John McFallDumbartonLabno
Mrs Anne McGuireStirlingLabno
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabtellno
Mr Tony McNultyHarrow EastLabno
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabno
Mr Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabno
Mr Denis MurphyWansbeckLabno
Mr Paul MurphyTorfaenLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Mr Tom PendryStalybridge and HydeLabno
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabno
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabno
Ms Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Mr Lawrie QuinnScarborough and WhitbyLabno
Dr John ReidHamilton North and BellshillLabno
Mr Terry RooneyBradford NorthLabno
Mr Ted RowlandsMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabno
Mr Marsha SinghBradford WestLabno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Don TouhigIslwynLabno
Mr Derek TwiggHaltonLabno
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabno
Mr Keith VazLeicester EastLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Mr Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Dr Vincent CableTwickenhamLDemno
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Mr Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemno
Mr Ronnie FearnSouthportLDemno
Mr David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemno
Mr Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno
Mr Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDemno
Professor Steve WebbNorthavonLDemno
Mr Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDemno
Mr Elfyn LlwydMeirionnydd Nant ConwyPCno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive