Use of Hand-held Electronic Devices and Social Media in the Chamber (Backbench Business) — 13 Oct 2011 at 15:24

Ian Davidson MP, Glasgow South West voted against allowing MPs to tweet from the commons chamber.

The majority of MPs voted against restricting the use of electronic devices in the House of Commons chamber in a manner which would have prevented MPs from using Twitter and other social media sites during debates.

Those MPs who voted "aye" were voting against allowing MPs to tweet from the commons chamber.

The text of the motion being debated[1] was:

  • That this House notes the Third Report from the Procedure Committee on Use of hand-held electronic devices in the Chamber and committees, HC 889; and resolves that hand-held devices (not laptops) may be used in the Chamber, provided that they are silent, and used in a way that does not impair decorum, that Members making speeches in the Chamber or in committee may refer to electronic devices in place of paper speaking notes and that electronic devices, including laptops, may be used silently in committee meetings, including select committees.

The division was on making the following, rejected, amendment:

  • leave out from ‘Chamber’ to end and add ‘to a minimal extent, silently and with decorum, to receive and send urgent messages, as a substitute for paper speaking notes and to refer to documents for use in debates, but not for any other purpose.’.

The original, unammended, motion, was subsequently passed by the house without at vote.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con124 (+1 tell) 44 (+2 tell)055.9%
DUP1 1025.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab57 (+1 tell) 14128.3%
LDem22 3043.9%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP1 0016.7%
Total:206 63142.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Guto BebbAberconwyConaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
Steve BrineWinchesterConaye
Robert BucklandSouth SwindonConaye
Conor BurnsBournemouth WestConaye
Alun CairnsVale of GlamorganConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthConaye
Philip DunneLudlowConaye
George EusticeCamborne and RedruthConaye
Michael FallonSevenoaksConaye
Mark FrancoisRayleigh and WickfordConaye
George FreemanMid NorfolkConaye
Richard FullerBedfordConaye
Roger GaleNorth ThanetContellaye
Robert GoodwillScarborough and WhitbyConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Simon HartCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireConaye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConaye
Damian HindsEast HampshireConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConaye
Marcus JonesNuneatonConaye
Daniel KawczynskiShrewsbury and AtchamConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Paul MaynardBlackpool North and CleveleysConaye
Christopher PincherTamworthConaye
Simon ReevellDewsburyConaye
Malcolm RifkindKensingtonConaye
Andrew RosindellRomfordConaye
David RuffleyBury St EdmundsConaye
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConaye
Alok SharmaReading WestConaye
Anna SoubryBroxtoweConaye
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthConaye
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConaye
Robert SymsPooleConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneContellaye
Angela WatkinsonHornchurch and UpminsterConaye
John WhittingdaleMaldonConaye
Gavin WilliamsonSouth StaffordshireConaye
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLabaye
Alan CampbellTynemouthLabaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabaye
Thomas DochertyDunfermline and West FifeLabaye
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLabaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Mark HendrickPrestonLabaye
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLabaye
Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabaye
Jim SheridanPaisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabboth
Simon HughesBermondsey and Old SouthwarkLDemaye
Bob RussellColchesterLDemaye
Ian SwalesRedcarLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive