Greater London Authority (Referendum) Bill — Counting Officers — 24 Nov 1997

Schedule agreed to.

I beg to move amendment No. 20, in clause 2, page 1, line 20, after 'borough', insert

'and in the district councils of Broxbourne, Elmbridge, Epping Forest, Epsom and Ewell, Hertsmere, Reigate and Banstead and Spelthorne.'.

Amendment, by leave, withdrawn .

Question proposed , That the clause stand part of the Bill.

Question put and agreed to .

Clause 2 ordered to stand part of the Bill .

I beg to move amendment No. 6, in clause 3, page 2, line 19, at end insert

'but shall not so certify until after the declaration of the results of all local government elections held in Greater London on the same day as the referendum'.

Amendment, by leave, withdrawn .

I beg to move amendment No. 29, in page 2, line 19, at end insert--

24 Nov 1997 : Column 696

The Committee divided: Ayes 113, Noes 315.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 113 (+2 tell)071.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab285 (+2 tell) 0068.8%
LDem29 0063.0%
Total:315 113069.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive