National Lottery Bill [Lords] [Money] — 7 Apr 1998

Queen's recommendation having been signified --

Motion made, and Question put forthwith, pursuant to Standing Order No. 52(1)(a),

That, for the purpose of any Act resulting from the National Lottery Bill [Lords] , it is expedient to authorise--

(1) the payment out of money provided by Parliament of--

(a) any expenditure of the Director General of the National Lottery which is attributable to the Act;

(b) any expenditure of the National Lottery Commission established by the Act; and

(c) any increase attributable to the Act in the sums so payable under any other enactment; and

(2) the making of payments into the Consolidated Fund.-- [Mr. Robert Ainsworth.]

The House divided: Ayes 300, Noes 14.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 14 (+2 tell)09.9%
Independent1 00100.0%
Independent Conservative1 00100.0%
Lab293 (+2 tell) 0070.7%
LDem2 004.3%
SNP3 0050.0%
Total:300 14050.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive