Northern Ireland Bill — Exclusion of Ministers from office — 23 Jul 1998

Further considered in Committee, pursuant to Order [17 July] [Progress, 22 July].

I beg to move amendment No. 15, in page 11, leave out lines 28 and 29 and insert--

'( ) because he is not committed to the use now and in the future of only democratic and peaceful means;

( ) because he is involved in acts of violence or of preparation for violence;

( ) because he is directing, assisting or promoting acts of violence committed or planned by other people;

( ) because he is not committed to the total disarmament of all paramilitary organisations and the achievement of the decommissioning of all paramilitary arms, by 22nd May 2000;

( ) because he is not co-operating fully with any Commission of the kind referred to in section 7 of the Northern Ireland Arms Decommissioning Act 1997 in the implementation of the agreement reached at multi-party talks on Northern Ireland set out in Command Paper 3883;'.

Question put, That the amendment be made:--

The Committee divided: Ayes 144, Noes 272.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 111 (+2 tell)069.8%
DUP0 20100.0%
Lab269 (+2 tell) 0064.8%
LDem0 22047.8%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP2 0033.3%
UKUP0 10100.0%
UUP0 8080.0%
Total:272 144064.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive