House of Lords Bill — Decline to give a Second Reading — rejected — 2 Feb 1999

The majority No voters rejected an amendment to the House of Lords Bill that would have declined to give it a Second Reading. A Second Reading allows a Bill to move onto the Committee Stage. However, the amendment was defeated.

The main intention of the House of Lords Bill was to abolish the hereditary peers who sit within the Lords. Dr Liam Fox's amendment is as follows:[1]

  • This House declines to give a Second Reading to the House of Lords Bill
  • as it fails to address the role of the Second Chamber, its relationship to this House and its long term composition,
  • hence, rather than improving the governance of the United Kingdom by establishing a sustainable, balanced and effective constitution, it merely adds to the incoherence of Her Majesty's Government's piecemeal constitutional changes.


Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 134 (+2 tell)084.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab341 (+2 tell) 0082.3%
LDem37 0080.4%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP1 0016.7%
UUP0 3030.0%
Total:383 137081.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive