Budget Resolutions and Economic Situation — 5. Tobacco products duty (rates) — 15 Mar 1999


That provision may be made about the drawback of excise duty on hydrocarbon oil.

Motion made, and Question put,


(1) For the Table of rates of duty in Schedule 1 to the Tobacco Products Duty Act 1979 there shall be substituted--


1. Cigarettes An amount equal to 22 per cent. of the retail price plus £82.59 per thousand cigarettes.

2. Cigars £122.06 per kilogram.

3. Hand-rolling tobacco £87.74 per kilogram.

4. Other smoking tobacco and chewing tobacco £53.66 per kilogram.

(2) This Resolution shall have effect as from 6 o'clock in the evening of 9th March 1999.

And it is hereby declared that it is expedient in the public interest that this Resolution should have statutory effect under the provisions of the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act 1968.

The House divided: Ayes 380, Noes 143.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 138 (+2 tell)086.4%
Lab329 (+2 tell) 0079.4%
LDem42 0091.3%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
UUP0 5050.0%
Total:380 143081.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive