[S1M-82] Decision Time — 2 Jul 1999 at 12:31

This looks like the vote on S1M-82

The description in the bulletin on 1999-06-29 is:

*S1M-82 Henry McLeish: Independent Committee of Inquiry on Student Finance— That the Parliament recognises the growing importance to Scotland’s society and the economy of lifelong learning, the wide range of circumstances of those engaged in lifelong learning and the widespread concern about how students finance their studies; calls upon the Scottish Executive to appoint urgently an independent committee of inquiry with the following terms of reference and membership to report before the end of 1999, and calls upon the Executive to lay a copy of the Committee’s report before the Parliament—   Terms of Reference To conduct a comprehensive review of tuition fees and financial support for students normally resident in Scotland participating, part-time or full-time, in further and higher education courses anywhere in the UK; To have regard to the desirability of promoting access to further and higher education, particularly for those groups currently under-represented, while taking account of the need to maintain and to develop quality and standards, and the position of Scottish further and higher education in the wider UK system; To make recommendations for any changes to the current system, and > provide costed options where these may require additional resources; To present a report of its finding to the Executive by the end of 1999. Membership Andrew Cubie (Chair), Morag Alexander, Rowena Arshad, George   Bennett, David Bleiman, Eleanor Currie, David Dimmock, Marian Healy, Archie Hunter, Dugald Mackie, Ian Ovens, Heather Sheerin, Professor Maria Slowey, David Welsh."  

You can search for this motion (S1M-82) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that motion S1M-82, in the name of Mr Henry McLeish, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


In that case, we will have a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16088.9%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab56 00100.0%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 28084.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:70 48092.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive