[S1M-186.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 7 Oct 1999 at 16:55

This looks like the vote on S1M-186.1

The description in the bulletin on 1999-10-07 is:

*S1M-186.1 Mr John Swinney: Memorandum of Understanding—As an amendment to motion (S1M-186) in the name of Donald Dewar, leave out from "endorses" to end and insert "calls upon the Scottish Executive to re-negotiate the Memorandum of Understanding and supplementary agreements concluded between the United Kingdom Government, Scottish Ministers and the National Assembly of Wales in order to protect the interests of the Scottish people and ensure that no additional constraints are placed on the powers of the Scottish Parliament." Supported by: Alex Neil*, Mr Alex Salmond*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-186.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is that motion S1M.186, as amended by the First Minister's drafting amendment, in the name of the First Minister, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


There will be a division. Those members who wish to vote for the motion, please press yes.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con13 0072.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab48 1087.5%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 27081.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:75 32083.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Trish GodmanWest RenfrewshireLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive