[S1M-240.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 3 Nov 1999 at 16:50

This looks like the vote on S1M-240.2

The description in the bulletin on 1999-11-03 is:

*S1M-240.2 Phil Gallie: Scottish Executive's Compact with the Voluntary Sector-As an amendment to motion (S1M-240) in the name of Ms Wendy Alexander, leave out from "welcomes" to end and insert "stresses its commitment to maintaining the independence of the voluntary sector, notes that it has a role to play that is locally determined and distinctive, should not be directed by and fulfils different needs from services provided by the state, and agrees that this is best enhanced by encouraging individual giving through the use of the tax system to support people who voluntarily give to charities."    

You can search for this motion (S1M-240.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The second question is, that amendment S1M-240.2, in the name of Phil Gallie, which seeks to amend motion S1M-240, in the name of Ms Wendy Alexander, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


In that case, there will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15083.3%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 0033.3%
Lab46 0082.1%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP25 0075.8%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:87 15079.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive