[S1M-242] Decision Time — 4 Nov 1999 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S1M-242

The description in the bulletin on 1999-11-03 is:

*S1M-242 Mr Alex Salmond: Agriculture and Rural Affairs-That the Parliament recognises the drastic effects of the agricultural recession which has been exacerbated by successive governments' ineptitude over matters such as BSE, Beef on the Bone, the present difficulties in pig farming and the failure to secure European help for hill farmers; acknowledges that there is now a crisis in rural Scotland and that it is being made worse by the continuing effect of the fuel price escalator, the decline of rural public transport, the shortage of affordable rural housing and the failure to support successfully Scotland's tourist industry, and therefore calls upon the Scottish Executive to devise a real and effective rural strategy which could command the backing not only of the whole Parliament but also of the whole of Scotland. Supported by: Fergus Ewing*, Colin Campbell*, Bruce Crawford*, Mr Duncan Hamilton*, Michael Russell*, Richard Lochhead*, Mr John Swinney*, Kay Ullrich*, Alasdair Morgan*

You can search for this motion (S1M-242) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S1M-242, as amended, in the name of Mr Alex Salmond, on agricultural and rural affairs, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


We will have a division. Members who wish to support the motion as amended should press yes.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16088.9%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab53 0094.6%
LDem16 00100.0%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:71 17092.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive