Immigration and Asylum Bill — New Clause — 9 Nov 1999

Lords amendments considered.

Lords amendment: No. 135, after clause 84, to insert the following new clause-- Eligibility for social security benefits --

(". An asylum-seeker, and his dependants (if any), shall be eligible for any social security benefits to which they would have been entitled if neither Part VI of this Act or Schedule 1 to the Asylum and Immigration Act 1996 had been in force, until such time as the Secretary of State has placed a report in the Library of the House of Commons giving details of the average process times in the determination of--

(a) initial asylum decisions; and

(b) appeals to adjudicators against initial asylum decisions,

and certifying that the average time from the lodging of the application for asylum to the determination of an adjudicator of the appeal against the initial asylum decisions is less than six months.")

I beg to move, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment.

Mr. Deputy Speaker:

With this it will be convenient to take amendment (a) in lieu of the Lords amendment.

It being twenty-two minutes past Eight o'clock, Mr. Deputy Speaker put the Question already proposed from the Chair, pursuant to the Order this day.

Question put, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment:--

The House divided: Ayes 331, Noes 60.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 301.9%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab331 (+2 tell) 16083.9%
LDem0 33 (+2 tell)076.1%
PC0 1025.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP0 1010.0%
Total:331 60061.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLab (minister)no
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabno
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)no
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabno
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Ken LivingstoneBrent Eastwhilst Labno
John McAllionDundee EastLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Ms Audrey WisePrestonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive