[S1M-295] Decision Time — 18 Nov 1999 at 17:06

This looks like the vote on S1M-295

The description in the bulletin on 1999-11-17 is:

*S1M-295 Peter Peacock: Digital Scotland Initiative—That the Parliament recognises the crucial importance to Scotland’s economic and social well-being of embracing and making full use of new developments in digital information and communications technology; believes that Scotland must seize the opportunities offered to gain competitive economic advantage, enhance learning opportunities for all, open up information resources to every citizen, and offer modern and efficient public services; believes that every community in Scotland must have high quality access to digital technology and information in the future no matter where they live; and welcomes the creation by the Executive of the Ministerial Committee on Digital Scotland and the Digital Scotland Task Force to create a partnership which will help develop a shared analysis of the challenges and champion the opportunities for Scotland arising from developments in information and communications technology, co-ordinate action and help to create conditions where Scotland can realise the benefits of working at the leading edge of application of those technological developments. Supported by: Mr Jim Wallace*, Mr Sam Galbraith*, Mr Jack McConnell*, Ross Finnie*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-295) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The sixth question is, that motion S1M-295, in the name of Peter Peacock, on the digital Scotland initiative, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con16 0088.9%
Independent0 0266.7%
Lab46 1185.7%
LDem12 0075.0%
SNP0 02678.8%
SSP0 01100.0%
Total:74 13082.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Trish GodmanWest RenfrewshireLabno
Ian WelshAyrLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive