[S1M-358.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 8 Dec 1999 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-358.1

The description in the bulletin on 1999-12-08 is:

*S1M-358.1 Mr Alex Salmond: Sea Fisheries—As an amendment to motion (S1M-358) in the name of Mr John Home Robertson, insert at end "negotiate the transfer of lead responsibility for European Union fisheries negotiations from Her Majesty’s Government to the Scottish Executive, in recognition of Scotland’s dominant position within the UK industry; pursue a control regime for the Scottish industry that does not place it at a competitive disadvantage in comparison to other EU fleets, and influence the forthcoming reform of the Common Fisheries Policy by bringing forward proposals to introduce the concept of zonal management thereby involving the industry itself in the decision-making process, whilst maintaining the founding principles of the original agreement, namely relative stability, the Hague preferences and historic fishing rights, to re-affirm that the Common Fisheries Policy is not a free-for-all. Supported by: Richard Lochhead*, Colin Campbell*, Kay Ullrich*, Shona Robison*, Roseanna Cunningham*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-358.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-358.1, in the name of Mr Alex Salmond, seeking to amend motion S1M-358, in the name of Mr John Home Robertson, on sea fisheries, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con18 00100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab47 0083.9%
LDem16 00100.0%
SNP0 30090.9%
Total:81 32089.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive