[S1M-406.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 12 Jan 2000 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-406.1

The description in the bulletin on 2000-01-12 is:

*S1M-406.1 Nicola Sturgeon: Children and Young People looked after by Local Authorities—As an amendment to motion (S1M-406) in the name of Mr Sam Galbraith, leave out from "the importance of" to end and insert: "that much work still requires to be done through a co-ordinated national strategy to ensure that every child or young person looked after by local authorities can share fully in the benefits of education, health and social justice programmes; however expresses its concern at proposals to remove care leavers from the benefits system and calls upon the Executive to delay any such moves pending the results of its recently commissioned research into the effectiveness of current provision."  

You can search for this motion (S1M-406.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

There are two questions to be put. The first question is, that amendment S1M-406.1, in the name of Ms Nicola Sturgeon, which seeks to amend motion S1M-406, in the name of Sam Galbraith, on children and young people looked after by local authorities, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con17 10100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab46 1085.5%
LDem16 00100.0%
SNP0 28084.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:80 33089.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ben WallaceNorth East ScotlandConaye
Wendy AlexanderPaisley NorthLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive