[S1M-483.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 3 Feb 2000 at 17:06

This looks like the vote on S1M-483.2

The description in the bulletin on 2000-02-03 is:

*S1M-483.2 Tavish Scott: Air Passenger and Freight Links to Scotland—As an amendment to motion (S1M-483) in the name of Mr Kenny MacAskill, leave out from "in the 21st century" to end and insert "and acknowledges the potential for economic growth through improved airlinks; notes that the future of air traffic control and associated issues are a reserved matter outwith the remit of the Parliament, but recognises that there are concerns and that the Liberal Democrats are opposed to the development of the air traffic control system by public private partnership; strongly supports a two centre strategy to protect jobs at Prestwick; underlines the need to give the highest possible priority to air safety, and further notes that during the second reading of the Transport Bill in the House of Commons on 20 December 1999, no Scottish National Party MP spoke in the debate, and only one voted against the second reading of the Bill.  

You can search for this motion (S1M-483.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that amendment S1M-483.2, in the name of Tavish Scott, which seeks to amend Mr MacAskill's motion on air transport, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con17 0094.4%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab55 00100.0%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 29087.9%
Total:88 31195.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive