[S1M-508.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 9 Feb 2000 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-508.2

The description in the bulletin on 2000-02-09 is:

*S1M-508.2 Mr John Swinney: Knowledge Economy—As an amendment to motion (S1M-508) in the name of Nicol Stephen, insert at end "and calls upon the Scottish Executive to put in place a coherent strategy to ensure that areas of common interest between separate taskforces and Executive departments are properly co-ordinated and focused, to introduce a framework to measure effectively the performance of the Scottish economy in adapting to the challenges of the Knowledge Economy and to ensure that the Knowledge Economy is not placed at any competitive disadvantage." Supported by: Andrew Wilson*, Ms Margo MacDonald*, Fergus Ewing*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-508.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-508.2, in the name of John Swinney, which seeks to amend motion S1M-508, in the name of Nicol Stephen, on the knowledge economy, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15083.3%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab44 0080.0%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 28084.8%
Total:58 46183.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive