[S1M-509] Decision Time — 10 Feb 2000 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-509

The description in the bulletin on 2000-02-09 is:

*S1M-509 Mr Brian Monteith: Section 2A (Commonly known as Section 28)—That the Parliament affirms its belief in an open, democratic and tolerant society where all members are treated equally under the law; calls upon the Scottish Executive to withdraw the proposed repeal of section 2A of the Local Government Act 1986 from the Ethical Standards in Public Life etc.(Scotland) Bill, to establish an official committee of inquiry to consider all aspects of the section and in particular the provision of sex education in Scottish schools and to give this committee the remit of ensuring that relationships form the basis for discussion and teaching of sex education and establishing what statutory protection for children, parents and school boards is required, accompanied by clear guidelines on what topics and materials are appropriate for pupils of varying age, experience and maturity, and agrees to defer further consideration of this matter until said committee has reported to the Parliament.  

You can search for this motion (S1M-509) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that motion S1M-509, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17094.4%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent3 00100.0%
Lab49 0089.1%
LDem11 0068.8%
SNP23 0378.8%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:88 17385.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew WelshAngusSNPabstention
Dr Winnie EwingHighlands and IslandsSNPabstention
Fergus EwingInverness East, Nairn and LochaberSNPabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive