[S1M-639] Decision Time — 8 Mar 2000 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-639

The description in the bulletin on 2000-03-07 is:

*S1M-639 Bruce Crawford: Water Charges—That the Parliament believes that the impending rise in water charges which have been approved by the Scottish Executive is as unacceptable and damaging as the rises in the local authority council tax forced on local authorities by the Executive’s inadequate local government financial settlement; notes that the Executive is failing to make any financial contribution to the maintenance of adequate standards in the water industry just as it is failing to adequately support essential local government services; calls for the increases in water charges to be kept to a minimum and for measures to be taken to avoid consumers being forced to pay the cost of past neglect of the industry including a review of external finance limits, the scrapping of the Private Finance Initiative and the cancelling of debt in the industry to avoid unnecessary and unfair increases in water bills, and condemns the apparent indifference of the Executive to the rise in water bills, the increase in council tax and the cutting of local government services particularly with regard to their impact on the most vulnerable in society. Supported by: Mr Andrew Welsh*, Colin Campbell*, Mrs Margaret Ewing*, Mr Duncan Hamilton*, Linda Fabiani*, Alex Neil*, Fiona Hyslop*, Mr Lloyd Quinan*

The description in the bulletin on 2000-03-08 is:

S1M-639 Water Charges (lodged on 6 March 2000) Mr Kenneth Gibson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-639) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S1M-639, in the name of Bruce Crawford, on water charges, as amended, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01372.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab49 0089.1%
LDem13 1087.5%
SNP0 25075.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:63 301383.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

George LyonArgyll and ButeLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive