[S1M-639.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 8 Mar 2000 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-639.1

The description in the bulletin on 2000-03-08 is:

*S1M-639.1 Sarah Boyack: Water Charges—As an amendment to motion (S1M-639) in the name of Bruce Crawford, leave out from "believes" to end and insert "recognises that the Scottish public water authorities need to make very significant investments to deliver the high quality, safe and reliable water and sewerage service that the Scottish public and Scottish business need; recognises also that Scotland must meet the standards to protect health and the environment laid down in European and national legislation; welcomes the additional external finance made available by the Scottish Executive for the water authorities in the recent spending round; notes that the current system already provides a degree of protection for the most vulnerable through the link to Council Tax banding; welcomes the review of these arrangements that has been announced; welcomes the Water Industry Commissioner’s initiatives to increase efficiency, customer service and accountability in the water industry; and therefore endorses the strategic framework for the industry set out by the Scottish Executive in January."  

You can search for this motion (S1M-639.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-639.1, in the name of Sarah Boyack, which seeks to amend motion S1M-639, in the name of Bruce Crawford, on water charges, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 13072.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab49 0089.1%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 25075.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:64 42083.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive