Terrorism Bill — Definition includes damage to property — 15 Mar 2000

The majority of MPs voted against deleting the reference to property[1] in the following definition of terrorism:[2]

  • In this Act "terrorism" means the use or threat, for the purpose of advancing a political, religious or ideological cause, of action which --
  • involves serious violence against any person or property,
  • endangers the life of any person, or
  • creates a serious risk to the health or safety of the public or a section of the public.

An altogether fuller version found its way into the final Act, although it still retained the definition that if it involved "serious damage to property", but didn't threaten life, it could still count as terrorism. It also included actions that are "designed seriously to interfere with or seriously to disrupt an electronic system".[3]

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con7 105.0%
DUP1 0050.0%
Lab234 (+2 tell) 1057.0%
LDem0 36 (+2 tell)082.6%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 1016.7%
UUP7 0070.0%
Total:249 41045.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Ms Audrey WisePrestonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive