[S1M-720.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Apr 2000 at 17:40

This looks like the vote on S1M-720.1

The description in the bulletin on 2000-04-05 is:

*S1M-720.1 Donald Gorrie: Holyrood Project—As an amendment to motion (S1M-720) in the name of Sir David Steel, insert at end: "and, in order to be fully informed when making a final decision on the location, design, specification and cost of its permanent home, (a) directs the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body to present to it in early June the scheme design for the Holyrood buildings prepared by the design team, along with the most detailed possible plans, with evaluation and costs, prepared by independent experts for (i) the St Andrew’s House/Royal High School site with new build parliament chamber and (ii) the Mound site based on the acquisition of the New College Campus and development of nearby buildings; (b) calls upon the Scottish Executive to co-operate fully with the study of these options and to publish a report on financing options for the parliament buildings; (c) approves the SPCB’s proposal for a progressing group to take on day to day responsibility for the project of creating the Parliament’s new home and (d) agrees to make a final decision on the permanent Parliament buildings in June in the light of the information requested." Supported by: Ms Margo MacDonald*, Alex Fergusson*, Robin Harper*, Mr Keith Raffan*, Lord James Douglas-Hamilton*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-720.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-720.1, in the name of Donald Gorrie, which seeks to amend motion S1M-720, in my name, on behalf of the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body, on the Holyrood project, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 190100.0%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab55 00100.0%
LDem12 3093.8%
SNP0 32097.0%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:67 58198.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Donald GorrieCentral ScotlandLDemaye
Euan RobsonRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
Mike RumblesWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive