[S1M-890.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 24 May 2000 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-890.1

The description in the bulletin on 2000-05-24 is:

*S1M-890.1 David McLetchie: Mike Tyson—As an amendment to motion (S1M-890) in the name of Roseanna Cunningham, leave out from first "notes" to end and insert "regrets the determination of the SNP to promote an agenda designed to wreck rather than address the issues for which the Parliament is responsible; recognises and supports the current constitutional settlement, which was endorsed by a referendum of the Scottish people and which leaves immigration policy in the hands of the Home Secretary, and accordingly notes that the Home Secretary is the proper person to take the decision on whether Mike Tyson should be allowed into this country." Supported by: Lord James Douglas-Hamilton*

You can search for this motion (S1M-890.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The second question is, that amendment S1M-890.1, in the name of David McLetchie, as amended, which seeks to amend motion S1M-890, in the name of Roseanna Cunningham, on Mike Tyson, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con15 0078.9%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab49 0089.1%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 31093.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:77 35088.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive