[S1M-896.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 25 May 2000 at 17:04

This looks like the vote on S1M-896.1

The description in the bulletin on 2000-05-25 is:

*S1M-896.1 Alex Johnstone: Rural Scotland: A New Approach—As an amendment to motion (S1M-896) in the name of Ross Finnie, leave out from "welcomes" to end and insert "notes the publication by the Scottish Executive of the document Rural Scotland: A New Approach; further notes the lack of progress which the Executive has made in placing rural Scots in the mainstream of its policies and activities, and calls upon the Executive to acknowledge that Scotland’s rural economy was in the past, and must continue to be in the future, based on its primary industries." Supported by: Alex Fergusson*, Mr Jamie McGrigor*

You can search for this motion (S1M-896.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that amendment S1M-896.1, in the name of Alex Johnstone, seeking to amend motion S1M-896, in the name of Ross Finnie, on "Rural Scotland: A New Approach", be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15078.9%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab48 0087.3%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 02781.8%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:64 152784.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive