House of Commons (Reserved Matters) — 28 Jun 2000

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to prescribe which Members of the House of Commons may participate only in proceedings on reserved matters under the Scotland and Northern Ireland Acts 1998 or may be appointed only to a ministerial office having responsibility for such matters.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business): --

The House divided: Ayes 131, Noes 190.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 (+1 tell) 120 (+1 tell)077.5%
Lab160 7 (+1 tell)040.4%
LDem27 (+1 tell) 0059.6%
PC1 0025.0%
UUP0 4044.4%
Total:190 131051.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestCon (front bench)tellno
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConno
Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive