[S1M-1238.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Oct 2000 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S1M-1238.2

The description in the bulletin on 2000-10-05 is:

*S1M-1238.2 Miss Annabel Goldie: Fuel Duty-As an amendment to motion (S1M-1238) in the name of Mr Kenny MacAskill, leave out from "is the largest" to end and insert "has the highest fuel prices in Europe owing to the high levels of taxation levied by Her Majesty's Government; notes that this position is reducing the competitiveness of Scottish business; recognises that the essential car user, particularly in rural Scotland, is suffering and calls upon the Scottish Executive to make representations to Her Majesty's Government in order to reduce taxation in general and fuel tax in particular.

You can search for this motion (S1M-1238.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

On a point of order. My console does not appear to be working.

Your microphone is working, so it is rather surprising if your console is not.

I will find another console.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent3 00100.0%
Lab52 0094.5%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP29 0087.9%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:101 18093.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive