[S1M-1238] Decision Time — 5 Oct 2000 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S1M-1238

The description in the bulletin on 2000-10-04 is:

*S1M-1238 Mr Kenny MacAskill: Fuel Duty-That the Parliament acknowledges that Scotland is the largest oil producer in the European Union yet has the highest fuel prices in the developed world; notes that the Scottish economy as a whole and fuel dependent industries in particular are paying a heavy price as a result of high fuel prices; recognises that both individuals and entire geographic areas, in particular rural and island Scotland, are suffering; further recognises that the root cause of high fuel prices is taxation; notes that as a result of the recent increases in world oil prices Her Majesty's Government will receive a revenue windfall in excess of £4.4 billion, and therefore calls upon the Scottish Executive to hold a summit of interested parties to address the fuel situation, introduce a package of measures to address the needs of fuel dependent industries, and make urgent representations to the Chancellor of the Exchequer requesting him to make an immediate cut in fuel duty and give a commitment to work towards the European average. Supported by: Fergus Ewing*, Mr Duncan Hamilton*

The description in the bulletin on 2000-10-05 is:

S1M-1238 Fuel Duty (lodged on 3 October 2000) Shona Robison*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1238) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S1M-1238, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, on fuel duty, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con18 0094.7%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab54 0098.2%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 31093.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:88 35096.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive