[S1M-1239.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Oct 2000 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S1M-1239.2

The description in the bulletin on 2000-10-05 is:

*S1M-1239.2 Mr Frank McAveety: Proportional Representation in Local Government-As an amendment to motion (S1M-1239) in the name of Mr Kenneth Gibson, leave out from "agrees" to end and insert "notes that the Partnership Agreement contains a commitment, following the publication of the final report of the McIntosh Commission, to an immediate programme of change including progress on electoral reform; notes too that the Executive established the Renewing Local Democracy Working Group chaired by Richard Kerley, and welcomes the decision by the Executive to establish a Ministerial Group to consider its recommendations and the Executive's commitment to continue to make progress on electoral reform and other issues relating to the modernisation of local government." Supported by: Iain Smith*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1239.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that amendment S1M-1239.2, in the name of Frank McAveety, which seeks to amend motion S1M-1239, in the name of Kenneth Gibson, on proportional representation in local government, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab54 0098.2%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 31093.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:69 54096.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive