[S1M-1299.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 1 Nov 2000 at 17:06

This looks like the vote on S1M-1299.2

The description in the bulletin on 2000-11-01 is:

*S1M-1299.2 Mr John Swinney: Official Information and Accountability to Parliament - The Executive's Policy)—As an amendment to motion (S1M-1299) in the name of Henry McLeish, leave out from "that the Executive" to end and insert "the need for openness, accessibility and accountability in the workings of the Executive and calls upon the First Minister to convene a meeting at which the Leaders of the political parties in the Parliament and the members of the Consultative Steering Group develop guidelines for access to information in relation to the scrutiny of the Executive by the Parliament and its committees and to bring the proposed guidelines from the meeting before the Parliament for debate." Supported by: Michael Russell*, Brian Adam*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1299.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-1299.2, in the name of Mr John Swinney, seeking to amend motion S1M-1299, in the name of the First Minister, on the Executive's policy on official information and accountability to Parliament, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con17 0089.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab50 0092.6%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 28084.8%
Total:82 30088.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive