[S1M-1448] Decision Time — 13 Dec 2000 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S1M-1448

The description in the bulletin on 2000-12-11 is:

*S1M-1448 Michael Russell: Motion of No Confidence-That the Parliament has no confidence in Sam Galbraith in his role as a member of the Scottish Executive, by reason of his failure to act decisively on the matter of the Scottish Qualifications Authority between 26 June 2000 and 13 August 2000. Supported by: Ms Sandra White*, Nicola Sturgeon*, Fiona McLeod*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*, Fiona Hyslop*, Roseanna Cunningham*, Bruce Crawford*, Mrs Margaret Ewing*, Dorothy-Grace Elder*, Andrew Wilson*, Christine Grahame*, Mr Alex Salmond*, Mr Andrew Welsh*, Kay Ullrich*, Mr Duncan Hamilton*, Mr John Swinney*, Brian Adam*, Colin Campbell*, Linda Fabiani*, Tricia Marwick*

The description in the bulletin on 2000-12-12 is:

S1M-1448 Motion of No Confidence (lodged on 8 December 2000) Richard Lochhead*, Mr Kenny MacAskill*, Fergus Ewing*, Mr Lloyd Quinan*, Mr Gil Paterson*, Mr Adam Ingram*, Shona Robison*, Alasdair Morgan*, Mr Brian Monteith*

The description in the bulletin on 2000-12-13 is:

S1M-1448 Motion of No Confidence (lodged on 8 December 2000) Irene McGugan*, Dr Winnie Ewing*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1448) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that motion S1M-1448, in the name of Mike Russell, which is a motion of no confidence, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab52 0094.5%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 30090.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:66 52193.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive