[S1M-1548] Decision Time — 18 Jan 2001 at 17:06

This looks like the vote on S1M-1548

The description in the bulletin on 2001-01-17 is:

*S1M-1548 Mr Jamie McGrigor: Fisheries—That the Parliament notes the failure of the Scottish Executive to take the lead in producing an appropriate cod recovery plan for presentation as a United Kingdom submission to the European Commission; believes that this failure has led to European proposals for the North Sea which would seriously disadvantage the Scottish fishing fleet; notes that the plan, unless altered, will cause tremendous economic damage to Scotland’s fishing communities, and calls for an alternative plan, devised in co-operation with the Scottish fishing industry, to be promoted immediately, which will lead to the revival of fish stocks and ensure a long-term future for Scotland’s fishing industry. Supported by: Bill Aitken*, Nick Johnston*, Alex Fergusson*, Mr David Davidson*, Mr Murray Tosh*, Mr Keith Harding*, John Scott*, Mary Scanlon*, Ben Wallace*, David McLetchie*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1548) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S1M-1548, in the name of Mr Jamie McGrigor, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Independent3 00100.0%
Lab46 0083.6%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP29 0087.9%
SSP0 01100.0%
Total:93 18188.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive