[S1M-1584] Decision Time — 25 Jan 2001 at 17:18

This looks like the vote on S1M-1584

The description in the bulletin on 2001-01-24 is:

*S1M-1584 Bruce Crawford: Roads of Scotland—That the Parliament expresses its grave concern over the tendering process for the award of the contracts for the management and maintenance of the trunk road network; in particular notes that there are wide concerns about the contract assessment process, the future operation of the trunk road service and the potential knock-on implications for local authorities and others, and also expresses its deep regret that the Scottish Executive has failed to respond fully to the substantial and detailed submissions by the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities, individual councils and others. Supported by: Brian Adam*, Mr Kenny MacAskill*, Colin Campbell*, Mr Andrew Welsh*, Mr John Swinney*, Michael Matheson*, Mr Adam Ingram*, Andrew Wilson*, Nicola Sturgeon*, Tricia Marwick*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-01-25 is:

S1M-1584 Roads of Scotland (lodged on 23 January 2001) Fiona McLeod*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*, Shona Robison*, Alex Neil*, Tommy Sheridan*, Alasdair Morgan*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1584) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S1M-1584, in the name of Bruce Crawford, on roads of Scotland, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con19 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab52 0094.5%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 31197.0%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:88 34196.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

George ReidMid Scotland and FifeSNPabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive