[S1M-1656] Decision Time — 15 Feb 2001 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-1656

The description in the bulletin on 2001-02-14 is:

*S1M-1656 Michael Russell: Future of Scottish Education—That the Parliament welcomes the acceptance of the McCrone settlement by Scottish teachers and looks forward to a new era of co-operation and consultation between government, teachers, parents and education authorities which could result in much beneficial development of our educational system; rejects the moves towards selection and privatisation of education outlined by the Prime Minister in recent speeches; expects the Scottish Executive to make no attempt to imitate such policies which are not only directly contrary to the Scottish educational ethos but would re-create resentment and division in our schools; calls upon the Scottish Executive to emphasise its desire to improve Scotland’s distinctive education system by following the example of the Northern Ireland Executive in abandoning league tables, and further encourages the Scottish Executive to re-examine critically target setting for schools and the burden of externally imposed assessment on Scotland’s young people. Supported by: Mr Duncan Hamilton*, Mr John Swinney*, Mr Andrew Welsh*, Christine Grahame*, Kay Ullrich*, Nicola Sturgeon*, Alasdair Morgan*, Mr Kenny MacAskill*, Bruce Crawford*, Irene McGugan*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-02-15 is:

S1M-1656 Future of Scottish Education (lodged on 13 February 2001) Ms Sandra White*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*, Michael Matheson*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-02-16 is:

S1M-1656 Future of Scottish Education (lodged on 13 February 2001) Shona Robison*, Dorothy-Grace Elder*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1656) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that motion S1M-1656, in the name of Michael Russell, on the future of Scottish education, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16084.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 0266.7%
Lab54 0098.2%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 03090.9%
SSP0 01100.0%
Total:70 163393.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive