[S1M-1726] Decision Time — 8 Mar 2001 at 16:30

This looks like the vote on S1M-1726

The description in the bulletin on 2001-03-07 is:

*S1M-1726 Alex Johnstone: Crisis in Rural Scotland—That the Parliament expresses its profound concern about the recent outbreak of foot and mouth disease, its sympathy for farmers and others in the meat supply chain facing the loss of their livelihoods, its concern about the general impact on the economy of the areas affected and its appreciation of the work of those fighting to contain the spread of the disease; affirms its support for the measures taken to date to control the spread of the disease; welcomes the introduction of the licensed movement of livestock to abattoirs, and calls upon the Scottish Executive, acting in concert with Her Majesty’s Government and the European Union, to ensure that all meat imports are subject to the same rigorous public health and animal welfare standards as our domestic produce. Supported by: Alex Fergusson*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-03-08 is:

S1M-1726 (lodged on 6 March 2001) Mike Rumbles*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1726) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The question is, that motion S1M-1726, as amended by the two amendments, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There is no agreement. There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab43 0078.2%
LDem12 31100.0%
SNP0 29087.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:55 54185.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemaye
Donald GorrieCentral ScotlandLDemaye
Keith RaffanMid Scotland and FifeLDemaye
Euan RobsonRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive