[S1M-1797.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 28 Mar 2001 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-1797.1

The description in the bulletin on 2001-03-28 is:

*S1M-1797.1 Miss Annabel Goldie: Tourism and the Economy—As an amendment to motion (S1M-1797) in the name of Mr Kenny MacAskill, leave out from "on the tourism industry" to end and insert "in Scotland on the tourism industry and businesses within the affected areas; believes that conflicting information about the disease, both at home and abroad, further jeopardises Scottish tourism; further believes that more must be done to secure the future of the tourism industry, and therefore calls upon the Scottish Executive to implement the following recovery plan for tourism and businesses within the affected areas: (i) immediate action to enable and ensure efficient crisis management, including a public information campaign through the press and broadcast media to make people aware of what can and cannot be done during the crisis, (ii) a moratorium on liability for business rates and council tax, (iii) a moratorium to be sought by the Scottish Executive from HM Treasury on liability for payment of national taxes, (iv) the establishment of a designated crisis area within the local authority area of Dumfries and Galloway to which the foregoing moratoria would apply, (v) the establishment of a hardship loan scheme to address the problem of cash flow facing many essentially sound businesses in the designated crisis area and (vi) a robust recovery strategy to be implemented by the Scottish Executive and relative agencies to market Scotland as a world class tourist destination."

You can search for this motion (S1M-1797.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The second question is, that amendment S1M-1797.1, in the name of Miss Annabel Goldie, which seeks to amend motion S1M-1797, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, on tourism and the economy, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17089.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab50 2094.5%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 27081.8%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:68 48090.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Wendy AlexanderPaisley NorthLabaye
Rhona BrankinMidlothianLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive