[S1M-1794] Decision Time — 28 Mar 2001 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-1794

The description in the bulletin on 2001-03-27 is:

*S1M-1794 Andrew Wilson: Financial Powers of the Parliament—That the Parliament notes that the current devolution settlement gives the Scottish Parliament fewer financial powers than any other Parliament in the world; further notes that, while devolution is a recognition of the need for and desirability of policy divergences within the United Kingdom, the financial settlement underpinning it is designed explicitly to produce convergence in public expenditure; recognises that two thirds of Scots already support the devolution of full financial powers to the Scottish Parliament, and calls on the Scottish Executive to respond to this growing consensus and bring forward proposals to deliver full financial powers to the Parliament.

The description in the bulletin on 2001-03-28 is:

S1M-1794 Financial Powers of the Parliament (lodged on 26 March 2001) Shona Robison*, Dorothy-Grace Elder*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1794) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that motion S1M-1794, in the name of Andrew Wilson, on the financial powers of the Scottish Parliament, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17089.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab52 0094.5%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 28084.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:67 50091.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive