[S1M-1807.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 29 Mar 2001 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-1807.2

The description in the bulletin on 2001-03-29 is:

*S1M-1807.2 Phil Gallie: Justice—As an amendment to motion (S1M-1807) in the name of Mr Jim Wallace, leave out from "the record" to end and insert "that the Executive has presided over a period of police under-manning, a loss of morale within the prison service, chaos in our courts, a rise in crime, particularly in crimes of violence, and the recycling of criminals through prisoner early release." Supported by: Mrs Lyndsay McIntosh*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1807.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that amendment S1M-1807.2, in the name of Phil Gallie, which seeks to amend motion S1M-1807, in the name of Jim Wallace, on justice, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16084.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 02100.0%
Lab51 0092.7%
LDem14 0193.8%
SNP0 02884.8%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:68 163189.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive