[S1M-1866] Decision Time — 26 Apr 2001 at 17:04

This looks like the vote on S1M-1866

The description in the bulletin on 2001-04-25 is:

*S1M-1866 Mr Kenny MacAskill: Fuel Crisis—That the Parliament notes the serious problem caused to industries and individuals in Scotland through high fuel costs; further notes the additional burden that the foot-and-mouth disease crisis has placed on industries and areas vulnerable to high fuel prices; recognises that notwithstanding the changes in the Budget announced by the Chancellor of the Exchequer, fuel costs in Scotland remain the highest in the developed world and are set to rise further towards £4.00 a gallon; therefore calls on the Chancellor of the Exchequer to reduce immediately fuel taxation by 10 pence per gallon and thereafter to move to a fairer system of taxation and ensure a harmonisation of fuel prices with our European competitors, and calls upon the Scottish Executive and Her Majesty's Government to take action to end the disparity of fuel prices in rural Scotland. Supported by: Brian Adam*, Andrew Wilson*, Fergus Ewing*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-04-26 is:

S1M-1866 Fuel Crisis (lodged on 24 April 2001) Alex Neil*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-1866) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that motion S1M-1866, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, on the fuel crisis, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con15 0078.9%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab49 0089.1%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 28084.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:77 32185.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive