Liaison: Select Committee Report — 30 Apr 2001 at 17:13

Moved, That the Second Report from the Select Committee (HL Paper 67) be agreed to.--(Lord Tordoff.)

rose to move, as an amendment to the above Motion, to leave out all the words after "That" and insert "this House rejects the recommendations of the Liaison Committee and appoints a Select Committee of five members to consider the justification for the finding of those reviewing the conclusions of the RAF board of inquiry that both pilots of the Chinook helicopter ZD576 which crashed on the Mull of Kintyre on 2nd June 1994 were negligent".

On Question, Whether the said amendment shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 132; Not-Contents, 106.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con66 (+1 tell) 030.7%
Crossbench24 (+1 tell) 3 (+1 tell)18.4%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab26 8056.4%
LDem6 20 (+1 tell)44.3%
Other2 115.8%
Total:129 10435.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbenchtellno
Lord Cooke of IslandreaghCrossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Tenby Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Acton Labaye
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Brett Labaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Bruce of DoningtonLabaye
Lord Davies of CoityLabaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLabaye
Baroness Gibson of Market RasenLabaye
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Lord Hardy of WathLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLab (minister)aye
Lord Hughes of WoodsideLabaye
Lord Jenkins of PutneyLabaye
Lord Judd Labaye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Lord Morris of ManchesterLabaye
Lord Orme Labaye
Lord Puttnam Labaye
Lord Shore of StepneyLabaye
Viscount Simon Lab (minister)aye
Lord Stone of BlackheathLabaye
Lord Turnberg Labaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Lord Williams of ElvelLab (minister)aye
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Lord Hooson LDemaye
Lord Jacobs LDemaye
The Earl of Mar and KellieLDemaye
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDemaye
Baroness Thomas of WalliswoodLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive